

Session 1

Chair and moderator: Markku Markkula, Vice-President, European Committee of the Regions.

09:30 - 09:45 Welcome addresses

Mariya Gabriel, European Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth.

Apostolos Tzitzikostas, President, European Committee of the Regions

Session 2

Chair and moderator: Mikel Landabaso, Director, Joint Research Centre.

09:45 – 10:20 The Regions and the New Cohesion Policy

Opening remarks by Thomas Wobben, Director, European Committee of the Regions.

Keynote Speech: *Smart Specialisation in the new Cohesion policy cycle 2021–2027: what changes and what stays the same* **Nicola de Michelis**, Director, DG REGIO.

Keynote speech: *Opportunities of the New Cohesion Policy,* **Mikel Irujo**, Member of the European Committee of the Regions, Regional Minister of Navarre.

10:20 – 11:00 Evidence & lessons learnt from the previous Cohesion Policy period and discussion by practitioners

Manuel Palazuelos, Team Leader JRC B7

Tatiana Fernandez Sirera, Catalonia, Spain

Jerker Johnson, Ostrobothnia, Finland

Discussion

11:10 - 11:15 Break

Session 3

Chair and moderator: Xabier Goenaga, Head of Unit, B7 Knowledge for Finance, Innovation and Growth

11:15 – 11:30 Keynote Speech: *The future role smart specialisation in the cohesion policy,* **Peter Berkowitz**, HoU, DG REGIO G1.

11:30 – 12:00 Smart Specialisation for recovery to the green and digital economy

Robust methodologies for Smart specialisation for a sustainable recovery, **Johan Stierna**,

Team Leader JRC B7/ Dario Diodato, JRC B7.

A strengthened indicators-based approach on monitoring and evaluation, **Christian Saublens,** former CEO of EURADA/ **Mathieu Doussineau,** JRC.

Discussion

12:00 – 12:30 Smart specialisation enabling the localisation and achievement of SDGs

Smart Specialisation for the localisation of SDGs, Monika Matusiak, B3.

Smart specialisation at the service of the social aspects of SDGs, Anne Karjalainen, Chair of the Committee of the Regions' SEDEC Commission.

Experience at regional/urban level, **Kieran McCarthy**, Member of the European Committee of the Regions.

Closing remarks

12:30 – 12:45 **Juan Espadas,** Mayor of Seville and Chair of the Commission for the Environment, Climate Change and Energy of the Committee of the Regions, and Green Deal Working Group.

Markku Markkula, Vice-President, European Committee of the Regions.

The event will be web streamed.
For more information please <u>visit our website</u>.